Tim Pomeroy: a new biography

Arran-based artist Tim Pomeroy has just finished his third solo sculpture exhibition with his main gallery The Fine Art Society in Edinburgh. The successful exhibition ran between 18th November and 23rd December. The private view in November, was the first the gallery hosted since the March lockdown of 2020. It was well attended with more than …

Scotland’s Year of Stories 2022

“The story is told eye to eye, mind to mind and heart to heart” – Scottish Traveller Proverb 2022 is Scotland’s Year of Stories as we celebrate stories inspired by, written, or created in Scotland. TRACS, Scotland’s National Network for Traditional Arts and Culture, will be supporting the year of events, and here is their …

Online book launch with James Kelman

Between Thought and Expression: A Conversation between James Kelman and Noam Chomsky A Radical Guide, Anthropology and Social Change, PM Press, and Working Class History invite you to join us on Monday, December 6th at (1pm ET, 10am PT, 6pm UK) for a live, online conversation between James Kelman and Noam Chomsky, moderated by Working …

The Legacy of Rachel Carson

The Legacy of Rachel Carson by Sally Campbell The following quotations are at the front of Silent Spring: “Modern man no longer knows how to foresee or to forestall. He will end by destroying the earth from which he and other living creatures draw their food”. Albert Schweitzer (1956) Bulletin of International Union for the …

An extract from Alastair McIntosh’s new book Riders on the Storm

The following blog was first published at Community Land Scotland In his new book, Riders on the Storm: Climate Change and the Survival of Being, the Isle of Lewis raised author, Alastair McIntosh, sums up the science of climate change science that will lead into the United Nations conference of world leaders, COP26, to be …